Agency Resumes In-Person Activities for Adult Clients in August

The Center for Vision Loss has announced its August schedule of client programs and activities, which includes its first in-person activity for adults since March.

The organization adapted its services for virtual or remote delivery in April because of the global COVID-19 pandemic. The agency intends to resume in-person programming incrementally in the coming months. In-person programs and activities also will include options for participation by phone or videoconferencing.

The agency’s August programs and activities are listed below. All activities that are not designated for specific groups are open to all clients. Additional details for all programs and activities are available in the August activity bulletin.



Life Skills Education

  • Monday, Aug. 3, 11 a.m.: Beginner Braille; conducted by phone
  • Tuesday, Aug. 4, 1 p.m.: Spotlight On Independence; conducted by phone
  • Thursday, Aug. 6, 11 a.m.: Intermediate Braille; conducted by phone
  • Thursday, Aug. 6, 12:30 p.m.: Tech Talk; conducted by videoconferencing
  • Thursday, Aug. 13, 12:30 p.m.: Tech Talk; conducted by videoconferencing
  • Monday, Aug. 17, 11 a.m.: Beginner Braille; conducted by phone
  • Tuesday, Aug. 18, 1 p.m.: Ways to Reduce Anxiety
  • Thursday, Aug. 20, 11 a.m.: Intermediate Braille; conducted by phone
  • Thursday, Aug. 20, 12:30 p.m.: Tech Talk; conducted by videoconferencing
  • Monday, Aug. 24, 11 a.m.: Beginner Braille; conducted by phone
  • Tuesday, Aug. 27, 10:30 a.m.: Exploring the Basics of Medicare; conducted by phone
  • Thursday, Aug. 27, 11 a.m.: Intermediate Braille; conducted by phone
  • Thursday, Aug. 27, 12:30 p.m.: Tech Talk; conducted by videoconferencing
  • Monday, Aug. 31, 11 a.m.: Beginner Braille; conducted by phone

Peer Support Groups

  • Monday, Aug. 3, 10 a.m.: Monroe Client Group; conducted by videoconferencing
  • Thursday, Aug. 6, 11 a.m.: Lehigh Valley Client Group; conducted by phone
  • Monday, Aug. 10, 11 a.m.: Spanish-Speaking Client Group; conducted by videoconferencing
  • Tuesday, Aug. 11, 11 a.m.: Women’s Chat Group; conducted by phone
  • Thursday, Aug. 13, 10 a.m.: Men’s Group; conducted by phone

Additional Activities

  • Wednesday, Aug. 19, 1 p.m.: Get Up and Move Exercise Activities; conducted by phone
  • Thursday, Aug. 20, 11 a.m.: Crafters Corner Activity; conducted in-person at the Lehigh Valley Campus; videoconferencing option also available
  • Tuesday, Aug. 25, 1 p.m.: Casserole Recipe Swap; conducted by phone

Transportation to and from the Aug. 20 Crafters Corner Activity will be the responsibility of the participating clients.