December Activities Offer Music, Holiday Cheer to Close Out 2020

Center for Vision Loss activities in December will give clients a chance to close out 2020 with music and holiday cheer.

The agency’s Monroe County clients will gather to sing carols and create holiday cards on Friday, Dec. 4, and its Lehigh Valley clients can lift their voices to holiday classics and bake holiday cookies on Wednesday, Dec. 16. Clients who are serious musicians also will meet virtually on Wednesday, Dec. 2, with hopes to form a performance group.

The Center for Vision Loss has adapted most of its services for remote delivery since the start of the global COVID-19 pandemic. The agency has resumed in-person activities, but a majority of programming continues to take place remotely. Some in-person programs and activities also include options for participation by phone or videoconferencing.



All classes and activities are listed below. Additional details are available in the agency’s December activities bulletin. All programs that are not designated for specific groups are open to all clients. The agency will be closed on Friday, Dec. 25, in observance of the Christmas holiday.

Life Skills Education

  • Tuesday, Dec. 1, 11 a.m.: Spotlight on Independence; conducted by phone
  • Thursday, Dec. 3, 12:30 p.m.: Tech Talk; conducted by videoconferencing
  • Monday, Dec. 7, 11 a.m.: Beginner Braille; conducted by phone
  • Thursday, Dec. 10, 12:30 p.m.: Tech Talk; conducted by videoconferencing
  • Monday, Dec. 14, 11 a.m.: Beginner Braille; conducted by phone
  • Wednesday, Dec. 16, 10:30 a.m.: Cookies and Carols; conducted in-person at the Lehigh Valley Campus in Allentown, PA
  • Thursday, Dec. 17, 2 p.m.: Tech Talk; conducted by videoconferencing
  • Monday, Dec. 21, 11 a.m.: Beginner Braille; conducted by phone

Peer Support Groups

  • Thursday, Dec. 3, 10 a.m.: Lehigh Valley Client Group; conducted by phone
  • Monday, Dec. 7, 10 a.m.: Monroe Client Group; conducted by videoconferencing
  • Tuesday, Dec. 8, 11 a.m.: Women’s Chat Group; conducted by phone
  • Thursday, Dec. 10, 10 a.m.: Men’s Group; conducted by phone
  • Monday, Dec. 14, 10 a.m.: Spanish-Speaking Client Group; conducted by videoconferencing

Additional Activities

  • Wednesday, Dec. 2, 1 p.m.: Musician Meetup; conducted by phone
  • Friday, Dec. 4, 10 a.m. and 11:30 a.m.: Monroe Cards and Carols; conducted in-person at the Monroe Campus near Stroudsburg, PA
  • Wednesday, Dec. 9, 1 p.m.: Get Up and Move! Exercise Activities; conducted by phone
  • Thursday, Dec. 17, 11 a.m.: Holiday Happenings in the Christmas City; conducted in-person in downtown Bethlehem, PA
  • Tuesday, Dec. 22, 11 a.m.: Crafters Corner Activity; conducted in-person at the Lehigh Valley Campus
  • Tuesday, Dec. 29, 11 a.m.: Monroe NuVisions Group Activity: Advocating for Yourself; conducted by videoconferencing

Transport services are available for some of the in-person programs. Clients must call to schedule a ride.